First meeting of the Provisional Government

to map

25. February 1918

On February 25, independence manifest and the names of first members of the Salvation Committee were published in newspapers.

With Daily Order no 5, Estonian Provisional Government was elected (see image): it was led by Konstantin Päts; Jüri Vilms was appointed Minister of Justice, Jaan Poska Minister of Foreign Affairs, Juhan Kukk Minister of Finance, Jaan Raamot Minister of Food and Agriculture, Andres Larka Minister of War, Villem Maasik was Minister of Labor and Welfare, Ferdinand Peterson Minister of Roads and Peeter Pöld Minister of Education.

Positions of Ministers of German, Swedish and Russian Affairs were temporarily unfilled. Of the largest parties in Estonia, Bolsheviks and Esers were left out of the government. The government held its first meeting in Tallinn Secondary Science School. On the same day, independence was declared in liberated Paide and Rakvere.

Source: Eesti ajalugu. VI, Vabadussõjast taasiseseisvumiseni. Tartu: Ilmamaa, 2005
Õie Elango, Ants Ruusmann ja Karl Siilivask. Eesti maast ja rahvast: Maailmasõjast maailmasõjani. Tallinn: Olion, 1998
Eesti ajalugu: kronoloogia. Tallinn: Olion, 2007
Eesti ajaloo atlas. Tallinn: Avita, 2006.                                                                                                       Image source:

You have finished watching the story. You can play the story again or close it and choose new stories from story selection menu. You can watch up to three stories simultaneously

You can choose up to three stories, if you wish to change choosen stories, please uncheck previous selections

Choose stories



  • ajalooline
  • auto
  • tulease
  • vaade