12 boroughs gain town privileges

to map


In 1993, it was decided again that boroughs as independently standing municipalities have to go. Therefore, they could choose to become either towns or accept the status of borough-parish, holding the parish rights. Most of the boroughs, 12 all together, wished to become towns: Abja-Paluoja, Karksi-Nuia, Kehra, Lihula, Loksa, Narva-Jõesuu, Põlva, Püssi, Rapla, Räpina, Saue and Võhma.

Abja-Paluoja began to evolve around the end the the XIX century, near a narrow gauge railway. In 1945, it became a borough, and stood as the center of that region for some time. Abja-Paluoja is sometimes called as the capital city of the Mulk, a name for people native to Viljandimaa.

Also Karksi-Nuia began to evolve in the XIX century, when Nuia handicraft settlement began to form. In 1945, Nuia became a borough, in 1987, it was renamed to Karksi-Nuia, and became a town on August 10, 1993.

Kehra began to grow after a paper mill was built there in 1938. It became a borough in 1945.

Lihula was an important center already during the prehistoric era, standing also as the center of the bishopric of Ösel-Wiek in 1230-51. Then, the center was relocated to Old-Pärnu, later to Haapsalu. The settlement never received town privileges, but, during the Middle Ages, was a trade settlement with local importance. The Livonian War, and conflicts following it, destroyed the settlement. It began to grow again in the XIX century, and received the borough privileges in 1945.

Loksa evolved in the beginning of the XX century, due to the port and building of the factories. It became a borough in 1945.

Narva-Jõesuu evolved as a holiday resort during the XIX century.

Põlva was a parish center during the Middle Ages, became a borough in 1945.

Püssi formed as a railway settlement during the XIX century, and became a borough in 1945.

Rapla was also a parish center during the Middle Ages, and became a borough in 1945.

A paper mill has operated in Räpina since the XVIII century. It became a borough in 1945.

Saue formed as Tallinn's satellite town in the 1920s. In the 1960s, it was joined to Tallinn and became a borough in 1973, a town on August 25, 1993, and separated from Tallinn as a independent municipality in 1994.

Võhma evolved as a railway settlement in the end of the XIX century. It became a borough in 1945, and received town privileges on August 10, 1993.


You have finished watching the story. You can play the story again or close it and choose new stories from story selection menu. You can watch up to three stories simultaneously

You can choose up to three stories, if you wish to change choosen stories, please uncheck previous selections

Choose stories



  • maja